violets + bones

released: May 13, 2016


1. Alexandria - lyrics

2. Aaron (Let It Out) - lyrics

3. There's Still Time - lyrics

4. Violets - lyrics


5. More Human - lyrics

6. Runnin' - lyrics

7. Death and All Her Pretty Little Monsters - lyrics

8. Stacy (There Is a City Inside of You) - lyrics

9. Mountain Song - lyrics

10. Miss Safetee Test - lyrics

11. King for a Day - lyrics

12. It Gets Better - lyrics

Album notes:

Violets + Bones is a double EP that I released specifically for the 2016 Coralville, IA showcase of This Is My Brave. This Is My Brave is a nonpforit that works to erase the stigmas around mental illness. In addition to online resources and campaigns, it organizes showcases across the US where people can share their stories, songs, poems, skits, and experiences with mental illness to show that we're all just people and that mental illness is just an illness, like cancer or a cold. I participated in the 2015 showcase and gave audience members a free mixed CD of songs I had already written that dealt with mental health, so for 2016, a wrote some new songs, re-recorded old songs, and gave out Violets + Bones for free to people in the audience.

Violets consists of four new songs, and Bones contains three new songs and five re-recordings. It also contains several of my favorite songs I've done, so it's a good introductory or greatest hits album.

All songs written, performed, recorded, and mixed by me.

20% of proceeds from purchases of this album or songs from this album will be donated to This Is My Brave to end stigmas around mental health.


joe sorensen

piano | guitar | vocal | songwriter

joe sorensen | cedar rapids, ia |

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black SoundCloud Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

© 2019 Joe Sorensen/All the Losers Win (ASCAP)